University News

Republic of Senegal: Land area: 74,131 sq mi (191,999 sq km); total area: 75,749 sq mi (196,190 sq km). Population (2014 est.): 13,635,927 (growth rate: 2.48%); birth rate: 35.09/1000; infant mortality rate: 52.72/1000; life expectancy: 60.95; density per sq mi: 169.1. Capital and largest city (2011 est.): Dakar, 3.035 million. Monetary unit: CFA Franc.


The capital of Senegal, Dakar, is the westernmost point in Africa. The country, slightly smaller than South Dakota, surrounds Gambia on three sides and is bordered on the north by Mauritania, on the east by Mali, and on the south by Guinea and Guinea-Bissau. Senegal is mainly a low-lying country, with a semidesert area in the north and northeast and forests in the southwest. The largest rivers include the Senegal in the north and the Casamance in the southern tropical climate region.

Log In

Create an account
Translate »